## **Testwale Current Affairs PDF**

Current Affairs search results for: "Carlos Saura and Chiranjeevi honoured at the 53rd International Film Festival of India 2022"

# 1. Spanish film 'I Have Electric Dreams' wins the Golden Peacock for the Best Film award at the 53rd IFFI ( Nov. 28, 2022 )

I Have Electric Dreams Wins Best Film award at the 53rd IFFI

The 53rd International Film Festival of India (IFFI) came to an end at a ceremony held at the Dr Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Stadium near **Panaji** on 28 November 2022. Union Information and Broadcasting Minister **Anurag Singh Thakur**, Goa Chief Minister **Pramod Sawant** and a host of film personalities including Akshay Kumar, Asha Parekh, Ayushman Khurana, Manushi Chhillar, Rana Duggubati, Sharman Joshi, and Khushbu Sundar were present.

The 53rd IFFI being held in Panaji from 20-28 November 2022 was organised by **National Film Development Corporation** and **Entertainment Society of Goa**.

Main Highlights of the 53rd International Film Festival of India (IFFI)

## Opening and closing film of the Festival

The **opening film** of the festival was Austrian Director Dieter Berner's film **Alma and Oskar** and the closing film was the Polish film **'Perfect Number'**, directed by Krzysztof Zanussi.

#### **Awards**

Celebrated Spanish film Director **Carlos Saura** was honoured with the prestigious **Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement award**.

Actor Producer Chiranjeevi Konidela was conferred with the IFFI Indian Film Personality of the Year Award for 2022.

### Golden Peacock for the Best Film:

Spanish film Tengo **sueños eléctricos / I HAVE ELECTRIC DREAMS**. The film has been directed by Costa Rican film maker **Valentina Maure**l.

#### Silver Peacock for Best Director:

**Iranian** writer and director **Nader Saeivar** was awarded Silver Peacock for Best Director for his Turkish film **No End/ Bi Payan**.

#### Silver Peacock for Best Actor (Male)

**Vahid Mobasseri,** lead actor of *No End*, was honoured with Silver Peacock for Best Actor (Male).

#### **Silver Peacock for Best Actor (Female)**

**Daniela Marín Navarro,** lead Actress of the Film 'I Have Electric Dreams' was honoured with Silver Peacock for Best Actor (Female).

### **Special Jury Award**

Corporate Address: A102, A Block, Sector 58, Noida, Uttar Pradesh-201301

Lav Diaz of Philippines was chosen for the Special Jury Award for **When the Waves are Gone** / **Kapag wala nang mga alon.** 

#### Best Debut Feature Film of a Director

**Asimina Proedrou of Greece** was chosen for the Best Debut Feature Film of a Director. She got the award for her film **Behind the Haystacks**.

## **Special mention by Jury Award**

**Director, writer and cinematographer Praveen Kandregula** received Special Mention by the Jury for his film **Cinema Bandi.** The film has been made in **Telugu** 

The Feature Film Jury, comprising thirteen members, was headed by **Vinod Ganatra**, an illustrious Filmmaker and Editor and winner of 9 National and 36 International awards.

### **International Film Festival of India (IFFI)**

The first International Film Festival of India (IFFI) was held in the cities of Bombay (now Mumbai), Delhi, Calcutta (now Kolkata), Madras (now Chennai) from 24 January to 1 February 1952.

The Delhi leg was inaugurated by Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru. It was later held in different cities of the country.

Since **2004**, **starting from the 35th edition**, **Goa** has become the permanent venue of the International Film Festival of India (IFFI).

It is held in the month of November -December every year.

# 2. Bangladesh film 'Agantuk' wins Prasad DI award at the Film Bazaar section of the IFFI in Goa ( Nov. 26, 2022 )

Bangladesh film 'Agantuk' wins Prasad DI award

The 5-day long Film Bazaar concluded at the 53rd <u>International Film Festival of India (IFFI)</u> in Goa with Bangladesh feature film '**Agantuk'** being named the winner of the **Prasad DI award.** The film has been directed by Biplob **Sarkar.** 

**The Film Bazaar** section in the IFFI is a converging point for film buyers and sellers from all across the world with a focus on discovering, supporting, and showcasing **South Asian** content and talent in filmmaking, production, and distribution.

The Kannada film 'Mithya' bagged the Prasad Post-production award, while the multilingual Nepali, Kumaoni, and Hindi film 'Bahadur' won the Moviebuff Appreciation Award.

Two short movies, '**Perianayaki'** by Bala Murali Shingade and Suchana Saha's animated film '**Priyo Ami'**, received the award under the "Film Bazaar Recommends (FBR)" category.

The French Institute Award by the French Embassy was given to **'Kissa - E - Circus'** by Savita Singh which was showcased in the co-production market.

The 53rd IFFI being held in Panaji from 20-28 November 2022 is being organised by **National Film Development Corporation** and **Entertainment Society of Goa**.

# 3. Carlos Saura and Chiranjeevi honoured at the 53rd International Film Festival of India 2022 ( Nov. 20, 2022 )

Carlos Saura and Chiranjeevi honoured at the 53rd

Renowned **Spanish film** Director **Carlos Saura** and Telugu film superstar Chiranjeevi were honoured at the 53rd International Film Festival of India (IFFI) 2022. The 53rd IFFI which is being held in **Panaji, Goa** and was inaugurated by the Union Minister for Information & Broadcasting and Youth affairs & Sports **Anurag Thakur** on 20 November 2022.

The 53rd IFFI being held in Panaji from 20-28 November 2022 is being organised by **National Film Development Corporation** and **Entertainment Society of Goa**.

## **Satyajit Ray Lifetime Award**

Celebrated Spanish film Director **Carlos Saura** has been honoured with the prestigious Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement award. His daughter Anna Saura accepted the award on behalf of the eminent filmmaker. He has received the **Golden Bear** for Best Director at the Berlin International Film Festival for Deprisa Deprisa, along with two Silver Bears for La caza and *Peppermint Frappe*, a BAFTA for Carmen and three awards at Cannes, among several others.

## **IFFI Indian Film Personality of the Year Award for 2022**

Actor Producer **Chiranjeevi Konidela** has been chosen for the IFFI Indian Film Personality of the Year Award for 2022. Chiranjeevi has starred in more than 150 feature films in Telugu, as well as some films in Hindi, Tamil and Kannada.

He is regarded as one of the most successful and influential actors of Telugu cinema.

In 2006, he was honoured with the **Padma Bhushan**, India's third-highest civilian award, for his contributions to Indian cinema.

Waheeda Rahman, Rajinikanth, Ilaiyaraaja, S. P. Balasubrahmanyam, Amitabh Bachchan, Salim Khan, Biswajit Chatterjee, Hema Malini and Prasoon Joshi have been honoured with this award in the past.